top of page

How Does Politics Affect LGBTQ Healthcare?


I come from a non-traditional family. I have lesbian mothers, so LGBTQ rights have always been very important to me. I was fortunate enough to grow up in a very accepting are, where my family was never made to be much of an issue. When our new President was elected I was immediately worried as to what the future would look like. Things weren't very challenging from the beginning, but more began to change. This article touches on a very interesting case dealing with Transgender protection under healthcare.

In this certain case Elijah wanted to have a procedure covered under Health Insurance, and while under the Obama administration it would have been covered, under Trump it is not as simple. Through all of these different hurdles that the LGBTQ community has to face, it will be crucial for the media to cover everything as accurately as possible.

From what I have observed so far LGBOTQ rights and issues are constantly in the media, but one of the best resources is The Guardian. This website has a specific section designated to LGBTQ rights, and provides a ton of articles published months into the past. Many other news outlets have LGBTQ articles, but I have yet to find one that provides as much access as this one does. In the next few months, as President Trump makes more healthcare decisions, I will become more evident as to how the media will cover this issue.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page