top of page

The Elephant in the Room...Graduation


Graduation…The elephant in the room that nobody wants to talk about. It’s almost like a dirty word. When we graduate high school it seems like the world is opening up to us. Everything is exciting and new, and the world has endless possibilities. But when it comes to college graduation not everyone is as excited. It is April 4th…I graduate college on May 13th. We had an event in the Communication department called “Spring Forward” where alumni came back to hold sessions about different parts of the business.

I was the moderator for the Electronic Media/Broadcasting panel. While we were discussing things it became very evident that it was possible to graduate, and everything would work itself out. Nobody gets it 100% right the first time. I am about to graduate with a double major in Electronic Media/Broadcasting and Spanish. Four years of work, and I’ll have two pieces of paper.

A job is what I’m after. Hearing from everyone at “Spring Forward” made me feel a lot better. One of the best things that I took f

rom this event was to never burn any bridges that you have. This is something that I want to live by. You never know who is going to advocate for you to get a job, or on the other side, keep you from getting a job. As I am entering the next few months of my life it is a time to always put my best foot forward. This isn’t something that you can only do sometimes. If you want to make it into the world of broadcasting specifically, you have to do the things that will set you apart. One of them is how you act when nobody is looking.

This article has always been helpful, and worth a read for anyone about to graduate.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page